Looking Forward To July

FFS is now behind me. I’ve left the tape behind, a few days early, but my nose feels great and reading other rhinoplasty recovery guidelines, a full month of taping was a bit on the overly cautious side anyway.

So now it’s preparing for July, for GCS and BA, and to try to enjoy Thailand a bit before and after the surgery, as conditions allow. I’m planning to buy 3-4 Kaftans, I think. Loose, flowing, easy to don and remove, these should make most days after surgery much more bearable. Bangkok’s weather sounds a lot like Houston’s – hot and humid. I’m hoping there’s plenty of shade outside because I’d like to sit outside the cottages and enjoy the fresh air.

I have another facial hair removal session for early July,  Thursday, July  2nd, since businesses are closed July 3rd to celebrate July 4th, which falls on Saturday this year. That’s a couple weeks before I fly so by the time I leave for Thailand, I’ll have some idea of how much facial hair is still left. I plan to make the next appointment for early to mid September, then another possibly for early November but we’ll see what the schedule allows.

I’m considering going home to visit my siblings this Christmas. I’ve not been there since we buried Mom, in 2012. A lot has changed since then, obviously, and I’ll have to ask if I’m wanted back there or not. I don’t expect any negativity, but we’ll see. I’ve been sadly surprised before. Plan for the worst, hope for the best, they say.

Trans people are becoming more and more visible each day in the US. And we’re winning more and more legislative battles, even while Republicans try to throw more and more legislative obstacles in our way. Yet now we have high tech companies backing us too, threatening and actually following through on those threats to take business elsewhere if Republican states openly enact bigoted laws. Indiana got a rude shock and is now spending tens of millions of taxpayer dollars trying to repair their idiocy. Personally, I hope they continue to fail and people remember what Mike Pence and the Indiana GOP actually did until they are driven from office, and state wide LGBT protections are implemented there.

I know that Texas is sweating bullets too.  Mark Cuban, owner of the Dallas Mavericks and several Texas businesses, Apple Computer in Austin, Dell Computer in Austin, and others are threatening to cancel Texas business expansions and even consider relocating should the Texas legislature enact anti-LGBT laws. Suddenly many anti-LGBT legislative proposals are getting tied up in committee. The GOP won’t openly oppose them, just quietly kill them, which will have to be enough for now. But make no mistake, Republicans will try this again and again and again unless we remove them from public office.

So the “transgender tipping point” from last year into this year seems real, and it’s a good thing too. More and more children are being diagnosed and helped at young ages. My therapist and I mused together that within a century there may not be any adult transitioners left. That getting the “wrong” socialization may stop happening, as children are diagnosed early, allowed to socially transition young, placed on hormone blockers, then allowed to complete transition medically at the age of 18. Those children will never suffer biological development that fails to match their inner selves. They’ll never have to unlearn one gender role and relearn a new one. In fact, they will nearly be as “stealth” as might be possible in a high tech society, with only trace information about their earliest years hinting they were ever anything other than the man or woman they show to the world. It gives me hope for trans kids tomorrow. Assuming the religious Christian Taliban doesn’t take over first, of course.

And finally, I need to find a real tablet, netbook, or notebook computer to take to Thailand. My phone was sort of trying to use for 10 days in Guadalajara. I’ll want a bit more convenience than that for a month in Thailand.

In a sense, I am now approaching the medical end of my transition. The facial hair may be done by year’s end or early next year. The other medical procedures will all be complete. The legal steps have been taken. I live and work day to day as myself finally, and I am happy doing it. I still think about losses I’ve experienced but those people made their own choices. All that I can do is go on living my life, and I plan to do just that – living finally, instead of merely existing.

4 thoughts on “Looking Forward To July

    • Thanks, Deanna! I have a good friend traveling with me and another friend is doing her surgery a few weeks ahead of me so we’ll overlap a bit and get a chance to visit while there. Surgery is rough, but I’ll have help and I’ll know that I’m finally where I want to be once it’s done. 🙂

  1. *
    I took time to go to Susan’s web-site. I read the articles and posts and watched the videos of people who had the VFS.

    Then I went to YouTube to watch more VFS videos.

    I did not find anyone post their ‘before’, only their ‘after’ Nevertheless, wow, the results are great! One could never know different from any other natural female voice.

    Of course the drawbacks are:

    – +$8000 for the procedure,

    – other expences,

    – travel issues (even if you see it as a vacation),

    – lost time from work,

    – plus the requirement not to talk or cough for at least a few months,

    – not allowed to sing.

    Some said they only achieved minimal improvement.

    I chuckled when one patient commented that drinking ginger ale soda goes down differently. Everyone will experience variances same as GCS / SRS yet will achieve the same results.

    Bottom line, no one complained. That is as good as anything because one’s mental outlook is at least as important as anything else. I am certain that someone who experienced no change would still be happy for the opportunity to try.

    It is reasonable that some patients will decline VFS because they can achieve results with non-surgical voice training while others will choose VFS.

    Yes, it is a risk. Yes, it is for each person to decide for themselves.

    My best wishes to you, Liz, whichever you decide as your time approaches.
    *

    • At this point, if I did choose VFS, it would be with Dr. Kim in Seoul, South Korea. The quality and consistency of his results has been very very amazing compared to other VFS surgeons and their results across a wide set of patients. Yet right now I am not sure that I need it. We’ll see.

      For now, my focus is on July, Bangkok, GCS, BA, and then recovering from that. If I do anything else after that, it will be a while and require me to both do some more saving and spend some time considering it very carefully.

Leave a Reply

