Thanksgiving 2014

thankfulnessOn this day before Thanksgiving, 2014, I sometimes think of what I’ve lost by being true to myself. But then I think of what I have gained and what I am truly thankful for.

I am thankful for my daughter, her wisdom, her patience, her understanding, and her empathy.

I am thankful for her husband, his acceptance, and his support.

I am thankful for my granddaughter’s acceptance.

I am thankful for dear friends, my spiritual sisters, who have lifted me up, praised me, and helped me see myself positively.

I am thankful for all my other friends who have been supportive and understanding and accepting, who have laughed with me at my new experiences, and who have welcomed me into their world wholly and with smiles.

I am thankful for an employer who has been supportive and accepting of me, and co-workers who have been the same.

I am thankful for my siblings, who support me as I find myself.

I am thankful for all the changes I am undergoing and experiencing, and the liberation these bring. I am thankful that I possess the economic means to pursue the remaining changes I seek for myself.

Today, and tomorrow, I shall be thankful. On my own, I’ve accomplished much, but with the support of friends and family, I believe I can accomplish anything.

And so can you.

One thought on “Thanksgiving 2014

  1. I am grateful that three years ago tomorrow (Nov 27, 2011) I had the courage to stop living as the man I wasn’t and start living as the woman I had always been. I am grateful for all the support I have had along the way, from family, friends and strangers alike. I am grateful that the nightmare of the life I had lived is over and done with and I can live authentically with Joy and gratitude for living in this time in history!

Leave a Reply

