I Choose to Be Thankful

Thanksgiving approaches, and exactly as I expected, my eldest son invited my spouse but not me to Thanksgiving dinner. I’m supposed to be left out. Unfortunately for him, my daughter already invited me to dinner with her and her family. I almost allowed this situation to focus me on the negatives of my sons but after persistent yet gentle cajoling from the women I would most likely call “sisters” if I could choose them, I’m going to focus on my daughter. They remind me to let the bad go and focus on the good. And I shall.

So today I am thankful for a gracious, loving daughter who wants me to be happy. I am thankful for a daughter who has opened her heart and her arms to me. I am thankful for a daughter who allows me to see her children and to participate in their youth. I am thankful for a daughter who has grown wise beyond her years.

I am thankful for a son-in-law who has been openly accepting of me. I am thankful for a son-in-law who has embraced my daughter’s children and loved them as his own. I am thankful for each day my son-in-law still walks this earth, while we pray that his turn on the heart transplant list will come soon.

I am thankful for a beautiful granddaughter who is now 5 foot 6 inches and still growing. I am thankful for a granddaughter who really believes she could someday be a model. I am thankful for a granddaughter who is funny, smart, and who trusts her mother.

I am thankful for a grandson who is an endless ball of energy. I am thankful for a grandson who enjoys hugs and cuddles. I am thankful for a grandson who makes me laugh. I am thankful for a grandson who shows great joy.

As Thanksgiving Day approaches, I am thankful for a wonderful daughter and the beautiful web of love and kindness that she has woven all around her. Despite everything else, I choose to be thankful, and my daughter is one true reason why.

Leave a Reply

